• March 2015

  • February 2015

  • January 2015

  • December 2014

  • November 2014

  • October 2014

  • September 2014

  • August 2014

  • July 2014

  • June 2014

  • May 2014

  • April 2014

  • February 2014

  • January 2014

  • December 2013

  • November 2013

  • October 2013

  • September 2013

  • August 2013

  • July 2013

  • June 2013

  • May 2013

  • April 2013

  • March 2013

  • February 2013

  • January 2013

  • December 2012

  • November 2012

  • October 2012

  • September 2012

  • August 2012

  • July 2012

  • June 2012

  • May 2012

  • April 2012

  • March 2012

  • February 2012

  • January 2012

  • December 2011

  • January 1980

  • Sign up for RSS Feed
    Durkan & Lindy Award Winners


    AUBURN, Wash. (Sept. 25, 2013) – Jockey Connie Doll and trainers David Martinez and Martin Pimentel will receive special awards when Emerald Downs completes its 18th season of Thoroughbred racing this weekend.

    Doll is to receive the Lindy Award, named in honor of the legendary Clerk of Scales Lindy Aliment, while Martinez and Pimentel are co-honorees of the Martin Durkan Award, named in honor of the late state senator and longtime proponent for Thoroughbred racing in Washington.

    Both awards will be presented during Saturday’s 11-race card.

    Voted by the jockeys, the Lindy Award honors accomplishment and sportsmanship throughout the 2013 meeting, at which the 54-year-old Doll has ridden six winners (five Thoroughbred, one Quarter Horse) while setting a good example for her peers, including a large contingent of seven female riders.

    A native of Ravensdale, Wash., Doll has ridden in recognized races since 1976, a 37-year career in which she has won multiple riding titles on the state’s Blue Mountain circuit of Sun Downs, Walla Walla, Dayton and Waitsburg. Doll also won titles at Harbor Park (Elma) and Kalispell, Mont., and has enjoyed success riding Arabians and Quarter Horses, in addition to Thoroughbreds.

    The Martin Durkan Award, chosen by Director of Racing Bret Anderson and staff, honors trainers that exhibit leadership, cooperation, sportsmanship and excellence on and off the track throughout the 75-day meeting.

    A 35-year-old native of Hidalgo, Mexico, Martinez has enjoyed a 15-win season including victories by 3-year-old gelding Mike Man’s Gold in the $50,000 Seattle Slew Handicap and 4-year-old gelding Until You in a $30,000 allowance race. Owned by Coal Creek Farm, Until You also gave Martinez his first starter in the Longacres Mile, finishing seventh in the race won by Herbie D. Martinez branched out two years ago, after stints with Vann Belvoir as assistant trainer and Howard Belvoir as groom.

    A 46-year-old native of Michoacan, Mexico, Pimentel is a popular backstretch figure and has been instrumental in helping the track’s Quarter Horse racing program. A longtime assistant to the late Craig Roberts, Pimentel began his career in Southern California with trainer Jay Robbins in 1983. Coincidentally. Pimentel earned Trainer of The week honors for September 20-22, compiling a 2-2-0 record in five starts.

    Lindy Award
    —Connie Doll 2012—Javier Matias
    2011—Lance Bullock  2010—Gallyn Mitchell 2009—Jose Zunino 
    2008—Travis Cunningham 2007—J.C. Estrada 2006—Ricky Frazier
    2005—Kevin Krigger 2004—Debbie Hoonan 2003—Scott Saito 
    2002—Kevin Radke  2001—Jay Conklin  2000—Gary Baze
    1999—Dan Brock  1998—David Nuesch 1997—Geoffrey Cooper
    1996—Vann Belvoir 1995—Vince Ward  1994—Mike Ardis
    1993—Ken Doll  1992—Debbie Hoonan 1991—Gary Baze
    1990—Vann Belvoir 1989—Gary Baze  1988—Vicky Aragon
    1987—Chad Hoverson 1986—Bryson Cooper 1985—Frank Gonsalves

    Martin Durkan Award
    —David Martinez, Martin Pimentel 
    2012—Dan Markle  2011—D. Munger, B. Christian  2010—Howard Belvoir
    2009—Charles Essex  2008—Roy Lumm    2007—Chris Stenslie
    2006—Steve Koler    2005—Robbie Baze   2004—H.R. Pat Mullens
    2003—Rick Terry   2002—Debbie Van Horne   2001—H.R. Pat Mullens
    2000—Pete Axmaker  1999—Tom Wenzel   1998—Doris Harwood
    1997—Tim McCanna  1996—Steve Bullock   1995—Les Merritt
    1994—Dennis Ward   1993—Roy Lumm    1992—T. Burlingame, F. Lucarelli
    1991—M. Chambers, T. McCanna  1990—Marion L. Smith   1989—Bill Tollett 
    1988—Mike McCann   1987—Junior Coffey   1986—Claude Gibson
    1985—Bob McMeans   1984—Larry Ross    1983—A. D. Hoksbergen
    1982—Kay Vaughan  1981—Hump Roberts   1980—Ben Harris
    1979—Kathy Walsh     1978—Clint Roberts   1977—Martin Kenney


    << < March 2015 > >>

    Full Simulcast Schedule

    Emerald Downs