Retired Mile Champions


No Giveaway was a solid horse at age three and again as a four-year-old, winning the Governor’s Handicap three weeks before the 2005 Longacres Mile. Owner Herman Sarkowsky told trainer Grant Forster to proceed to The Mile. Facing a top field that included Mile winners Sabertooth, Flamethrowintexan and Adreamisborn as well as Harvard Avenue and Desert Boom, Juan Gutierrez guided the 60-1 No Giveaway from 20 lengths back to victory. In a career full of thrills at the top of the game, none was better for Sarkowsky. Current home -
Second Chance Ranch, Yelm


Flamethrowintexan was a great northwest horse for three straight seasons, culminating with one of the most thrilling Miles ever. In 2006, he held off invader Papi Chullo the length of the stretch to win for owners Paul and Lori Heist of the Grasshopper Stable. The win gave trainer Jim Penney a record fifth Mile triumph.
‘Tex won four EmD stakes and also won the British Columbia Derby and the Bay Meadows Handicap for total earnings of $806,017. Current home - Paul & Lori Heist’s residence, Auburn


On opening day 2007, The Great Face tied the World Record for 5 1/2 furlongs at 1:01 1/5. He would end that season with three straight dynamic triumphs, including a Longacres Mile victory over a stellar field. It was the richest race in state history ($391,250) and the richest first prize ($220,000). Ron Crockett-color bearers ran 1-2 in the tight finish with The Great Face edging out Raise The Bluff. The Great Face had the single best one-meeting season in state history - $292,875. Current home
- Second Chance Ranch, Yelm

<< < May 2016 > >>

Full Simulcast Schedule

Emerald Downs